Dairy Milk chocolate-maker Cadbury issued a justification that the company does not use beef and its products are 100% vegetarian.
As a result, netizens said if a product contains gelatine as an ingredient, that means it was derived from beef.
Consequently, the Cadbury Dairy Milk Twitter account issued a clarification. The chocolate-making firm wrote, "Hi, the screenshot shared in the Tweet is not related to Mondelez products manufactured in India. All the products manufactured and sold in India are 100% vegetarian. The green dot on the wrapper signifies that".
Further, the company appealed to its customers to verify facts about Cadbury's product before sharing them further.
"As you can well imagine, negative posts like these, damages consumer confidence in our well-respected and loved brands. We request our consumers to please verify facts related to our products before sharing them further," Cadbury added.
Livemint tops charts as the fastest growing news website in the world 🌏 Click here to know more.
Catch all the Corporate news and Updates on Live Mint. Download The Mint News App to get Daily Market Updates & Live Business News.
Updated: 20 Jul 2021, 11:01 AM IST